Roasted Carrots & Potatoes

Needless to say, I’m no world-class chef. Every once in a while I try to make something a little challenging such as a Jack O’ Lantern pumpkin pie from scratch or Smitten Kitchen’s “Burst Tomato Galette With Corn & Zucchini” (one of my favorite food blogs AND recipes) and they come out wonderful. But more often than not, I’m slacking off in the kitchen these days. There are really only three things that I care about when deciding on what to cook for dinner on weeknights and that’s 1) easy to make, 2) tasty as heck and 3) easy to make. Lately, I’ve been lucky because hubby’s been favoring the grill for all of our protein while I’ve been in charge of sides. Yesterday I decided on roasting some baby carrots and potatoes to go with a delicious flank steak he was preparing. I went heavy on the garlic and they came out divine! Additionally, I made a side salad using fresh cucumbers and cherry tomatoes from my grandmother’s garden. You probably don’t need a recipe for salad, but just FYI … it was so stinking good. Garden fresh fruits and veggies really do make all the difference. Anyhow, I hope you enjoy my super easy recipe for roasted carrots and potatoes below.

Roasted Carrots & Potatoes:
2 lbs. russet potatoes
cut into small pieces (or any potatoes you prefer)
3 cups sliced baby
carrots
1/3 cup extra virgin
olive oil
4-5 finely chopped
garlic cloves (or a whole bulb if you’re a garlic fiend like me)
1 ½ tablespoons
Italian seasoning
1 tablespoon coarse
sea salt
1 teaspoon ground
black pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and prepare a foil-lined tray with cooking spray. In a big bowl, combine potatoes and carrots. In a small bowl, combine olive oil, garlic, Italian seasoning, salt. and ground black pepper. Pour mixture over the veggies making sure to toss well. Spread veggies evenly over tray. Tossing occasionally (every 10 minutes or so), roast veggies in the oven for 30 minutes or until they become fork-soft.

Dinner is served! Nom nom nom.

Leave a comment