Harry Potter & The Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

image

After reading this story, I swear I thought I was going to spontaneously book a flight to London to go see the play. Mind you, I am 6 months pregnant, have a full-time job and have never spontaneously flown ANYWHERE in my life. Still, this book had the power to change all that. Unfortunately, after a quick check on http://www.harrypottertheplay.com, I realized that this would be impossible due to the fact that the show is basically sold out forever (check the dates if you don’t believe me). Alas! I will never see this riveting plot brought to life. For now, at least, I got to experience an incredible story that Potter fans all over the world have basically been begging for for the last kazillion years.

My cousin sent me Harry Potter & The Cursed Child in the mail for my birthday and I basically lost my mind. If it wasn’t for life getting in the way, I would’ve started it immediately and finished it within a few hours. In case you weren’t aware, the book is basically the script version of the play so it’s a pretty quick read. Then again, this is coming from a serial reader so don’t take my word for it. I will say that the script format annoyed me a bit at first since the book doesn’t seem to be widely advertised as such (unless I’m just completely oblivious), but I got over it pretty quickly.

Onto the story without giving too much away. Harry Potter and the gang are all grown up with kids of their own which was pretty bizarre and difficult to get used to at first. While we see a lot of Harry, Ron, and Hermione, the main focus is on Harry’s son Albus Severus (confusing right?) and Malfoy’s son Scorpius. Both are students at Hogwarts and, unlike their parents, best friends and wildly unpopular. For Albus in particular, who has no interest in reliving his father’s legacy, life is a bit lackluster. Naturally, the two “outcasts” get themselves into a pickle which opens up opportunities for He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named to come back. :: gasp :: The horror! In a clever (albeit complicated) sequence of events, our main characters travel back and forth in time to try and rectify their mistakes and prevent newer and bigger ones from happening.

Overall, I give the book 4 out of 5 stars. Like I mentioned earlier, I was a little annoyed at the format. I was hoping for a big juicy read that I could really sink my teeth into. The brevity of the script left something to be desired. Other than that, I loved the story itself. I’ll admit, it was a bit difficult to follow. For one, it was nearly impossible for me to remember that Harry is the adult in this story and not the newbie wizard we all grew to love. Two, time traveling is confusing! Still, I adored the references to events in the previous books as well as the new bonds between our favorite characters in the present story. Ron and Hermione set my soul on fire! #relationshipgoals 😉 Either way, if you were a fan of the HP series growing up, then this is a must-read … if only to appease your nostalgia.

 

Leave a comment